2021 Heisman Trophy Odds: Rattler Early Leader

Updated: June 5, 2021

With the Heisman odds reset for the 2021 college football season, Oklahoma’s Spencer Rattler finds himself as the early leader with +800 odds.

Photo By – USA TODAY Sports

Heisman Trophy odds are changing ahead of the 2021 college football betting season, after Alabama’s DeVonta Smith became the first wide receiver to win the award since 1991. 

The 2021 NCAA season should be more stable than 2020, which would include the way the odds to win the Heisman evolve during the year. 

With the offseason well underway, let’s take a look at the 2021 Heisman odds. 

Odds to win 2021 Heisman Trophy

Odds above are up-to-date and reflect the Covers Line, an average comprised of odds from multiple sportsbooks.

Compare NCAAF futures odds before betting to ensure you get the best number.

Favorite to win the Heisman Trophy

Oklahoma QB Spencer Rattler led one of the nation’s best teams as a freshman, and oddsmakers are counting on his ascent to continue, currently leading Heisman odds at +800.  Rattler threw for 2,784 yards and 25 TDs last season, piloting the Sooners to season-long Top-10 status. 

Clemson’s D.J. Uiagalelei is among a three-way tie for second at +1,100. Uiagalelei had some high-profile burn in 2020, filling in while Trevor Lawrence was sidelined with COVID-19. He generally impressed, including almost leading the Tigers to an upset of Notre Dame. 

Despite very limited reps backing up Mac Jones in the Alabama offense, Bryce Young displayed enough potential to come in at +1,100. The product of an elite recruiting machine, Young comes with a high pedigree as a dynamic dual-threat, whose team is unlikely to fall from its perch among the NCAA’s best. 

Georgia’s JT Daniels, a former USC Trojan, comes in alongside Uiagalelei and Young. In four games in 2020, Daniels posted 1,231 yards and 10 touchdowns while throwing just a pair of interceptions. 

Understanding Heisman Trophy odds

Most sportsbooks will display odds in the American format as listed above. When DeVonta Smith separated from the Heisman Trophy pack at the end of the 2020 season, his odds had a minus (-) sign ahead of the number. 

That meant that a bettor in January had to wager $1,000 to win $100 by betting on Smith. Since this year’s race is in the earliest stages, there is no odds-on favorite, and candidates currently have a (+) sign in front of their number.

Here, a bettor stands to profit $300 for every $100 wagered on Rattler. 

If American odds aren’t your thing, simply use a tool like our odds converter to switch the odds to decimal or fractional format. Most online sportsbooks also give you the option to change the odds format that you see.


Heisman Trophy betting trends 

Here are a few trends to keep in mind before placing a bet on college football’s biggest individual award. 

• Quarterbacks have dominated this award over the last 20 years with 17 Heisman winners playing under center. Only one non-skill position player has ever won this prestigious trophy (Charles Woodson in 1997) and the last wide receiver to take home the award prior to Smith was Desmond Howard in 1991.

• The Heisman trophy winner usually comes from a team with a shot at winning the national title. Since 2000, 14 Heisman trophy winners have played for teams that made it to the national championship game (including Reggie Bush who later had his trophy vacated for breaking NCAA rules). If you’re handicapping the Heisman you might want to consider looking at which teams have the best chance of winning the title on the NCAA futures odds board. 

• Historically seniors dominated this award but even though DeVonta Smith won the Heisman in 2020, he is one of only three seniors to win the Heisman in the last 14 years. Over that span, two freshmen, four sophomores, and five juniors have claimed the prize. 

Heisman Trophy history

A quick look at recent Heisman trophy winners, their schools, and the position they played.

Heisman Trophy Winner School Year
DeVonta Smith Alabama 2020
Joe Burrow LSU 2019
Kyler Murray Oklahoma 2018
Baker Mayfield Oklahoma 2017
Lamar Jackson Louisville 2016
Derrick Henry Alabama 2015
Marcus Mariota Oregon 2014
Jameis Winston Florida State 2013
Johnny Manziel Texas A&M 2012
Robert Griffin III Baylor 2011
Cam Newton Auburn 2010
Mark Ingram Jr Alabama 2009
Sam Bradford Oklahoma 2008
Tim Tebow Florida 2007
Troy Smith Ohio State 2006
Reggie Bush USC 2005
Matt Leinart USC 2004
Jason White Oklahoma 2003
Carson Palmer USC 2002
Eric Crouch Nebraska 2001
Chris Weinke Florida State 2000


Where can I bet on Heisman Trophy odds?

Since the Heisman Trophy is one of the most iconic individual awards in the sporting world, most online sportsbooks and casinos offer futures bets on who will win the Heisman Trophy. See what college football odds are offered at the best sportsbooks available where you live. 

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *