March Madness MVP Odds 2021

Updated: February 26, 2021

Jason Logan
Clock Icon Feb 26, 2021 – 12:31 PM ET

Making the Final Four and winning the national title during March Madness takes a team effort but among those championship teams is always one standout player named the most outstanding player. 

March Madness MVP odds is a relatively new betting market in most jurisdictions but there can certainly be value found — especially if you have a good feeling which team will be crowned champion on April 5. 

Read on to get an explanation and historical view of the award and check back closer to tournament time for fresh odds and our favorite picks.

March Madness 2021 MVP Odds 

March Madness MVP odds are topped by the best players from the best teams, so expect to see multiple names from the top-seeded programs once the odds are released.

The odds to win the tournament’s most outstanding player award are released following Selection Sunday when the tournament field is set and will adjust throughout the tournament as teams advance and are eliminated. 

Most betting sites have offered odds on the tournament MVP for a few years now, but sportsbooks based in Nevada have only been allowed to book this March Madness prop since 2016. 

How is the March Madness MVP decided? 

The honor of March Madness MVP is awarded by the Associated Press after the NCAA Tournament. Most often, the Most Outstanding Player comes from the NCAA championship team. There have been a dozen players named MVP that weren’t on championship teams. 

History of the March Madness MVP

Not all Final Four MVPs go on to the pros, but they live on forever in NCAA Tournament glory — especially if you bet on their odds to win March Madness MVP. Tournament MVPs almost always come from the winning team. The last player to be named MVP whose team did not win was Hakeem Olajuwon for the Houston Cougars in 1983.

Year MVP School Odds
2019 Kyle Guy Virginia +525
2018 Donte DiVincenzo Villanova +1,700
2017 Joel Berry North Carolina  NA
2016 Ryan Arcidiacono Villanova  NA
2015 Tyus Jones Duke  NA
2014 Shabazz Napier UConn  NA
2013 Luke Hancock Louisville  NA
2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky  NA
2011 Kemba Walker UConn  NA
2010 Kyle Singler Duke  NA
2009 Wayne Ellington North Carolina  NA
2008 Mario Chalmers Kansas  NA
2007 Corey Brewer Florida  NA
2006 Joakim Noah Florida  NA
2005 Sean May North Carolina  NA
2004 Emeka Okafor UConn  NA
2003 Carmelo Anthony Syracuse  NA
2002 Juan Dixon Maryland  NA
2001 Shane Battier Duke  NA
2000 Mateen Cleaves Michigan St  NA

The above odds for March Madness MVP are listed in American format. Using Kyle Guy as an example, his odds were listed as +525. This means that a $100 wager would have profited $525. Going back a year to Donte DiVincenzo, a $100 wager would have profited $1700.

American odds can be converted to decimal or fractional using our odds converter. 

Instant Replay: March Madness MVP

  • March Madness MVP odds are usually topped by multiple players from the top-seeded teams in the NCAA Tournament.
  • Final Four MVP odds are released after Selection Sunday and will adjust throughout the tournament as teams advance and get eliminated.
  • 68 of the 80 March Madness MVP winners have come from championship-winning teams.

March Madness MVP FAQS

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *