Odds to win the 2021 NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award

Updated: May 26, 2021

Aaron Donald is a three-time NFL Defensive Player of the Year winner (2017, 2018, 2020) and is the favorite (+400) to repeat the honor in 2021.

Photo By – USA TODAY Sports

NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds are on the board with the 2021 season just a few months away. NFL DPOY betting odds are headlined by the reigning winner looking for his fourth, while several ascending pass rushers are chasing him in the NFL DPOY odds race.

Here are the full NFL Defensive Player of the Year betting odds for 2021.

NFL Defensive Player of the Year odds

Player Position Odds
Aaron Donald DT +400
Myles Garrett  DE +600
TJ Watt EDGE +700
Nick Bosa DE +1,100
Joey Bosa DE +1,200
Chase Young DE +1,600
Khalil Mack EDGE +2,000
Derwin James S +2,500
Shaquil Barrett EDGE +3,300
Minkah Fitzpatrick S +3,300
Stephon Gilmore CB +3,300
Danielle Hunter DE +3,300
Darius Leonard LB +3,300
Von Miller EDGE +3,300
Jalen Ramsey CB +3,300
Bobby Wagner LB +3,300
JJ Watt DE +3,300
Devin White LB +3,300
Tre’Davious White CB +3,300
Bradley Chubb EDGE +4,000
Jadeveon Clowney DE +4,000
Xavien Howard CB +4,000
Chandler Jones EDGE +4,000
Marcus Peters CB +4,000
Jamal Adams S +5,000
Jaire Alexander CB +5,000
Chris Jones DT +5,000
Eric Kendricks LB +5,000
Marshon Lattimore CB +5,000
Demarcus Lawrence DE +5,000
Tyrann Mathieu S +5,000
Yannick Ngakoue DE +5,000
Patrick Peterson CB +5,000
Jason Pierre-Paul DE +5,000
Za’Darius Smith EDGE +5,000
Vita Vea DT +5,000

Odds courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook on May 26.

Favorite to win the NFL Defensive Player of the Year award

Aaron Donald took home the third Defensive Player of the Year award of his Hall of Fame career after a 2020 season that saw him notch 13.5 sacks on a superb Rams defense. Donald is one of the greatest defensive players in league history still at the height of his powers and rightfully is favored (+400) to retain his award for 2021.

Behind Donald is Browns’ pass rusher Myles Garrett (+600), who could have won the award in 2019 if his season was not cut short due to a suspension. One of the freakiest athletes in the league on a talented Cleveland defense, Garrett could easily win the honor with an eye-popping statistical season.

Rounding out the Top-3, as the only other player with odds shorter than +1,000, is Steelers linebacker TJ Watt. The brother of multiple-time winner JJ Watt, Pittsburgh’s star pass rusher very well could have won the award in 2020 after leading the league in sacks and tackles for loss. 

NFL Defensive Player of the Year Betting Trends

• Since this award was first given out in 1974, seven defensive players have claimed this award more than once. However, no defensive back has ever won it multiple times. 

• The NFL DPOY odds board is filled with pass rushers for 2021, which is little surprise given that eight of the last 10 winners of the award totaled at least 11 sacks.

• While voters for the NFL MVP Award seem to take team success into the equation, the same hasn’t necessarily been true for DPOY accolades. Four of the last seven winners of the DPOY award were on defenses that ranked outside the Top-10. 

NFL Defensive Player of the Year history

A quick look at the NFL DPOY winners since 2000 and the position they played.

Year NFL DROY Award Winner Position
2020 Aaron Donald DT
2019 Stephon Gilmore CB
2018 Aaron Donald DT
2017 Aaron Donald DT
2016 Khalil Mack Edge
2015 J.J. Watt DE
2014 J.J. Watt DE
2013 Luke Keuchly LB
2012 J.J. Watt DE
2011 Terrell Suggs  Edge
2010 Troy Polamalu S
2009 Charles Woodson DB
2008 James Harrison Edge
2007 Bob Sanders S
2006 Jason Taylor Edge
2005 Brian Urlacher LB
2004 Ed Reed S
2003 Ray Lewis LB
2002 Derrick Brooks LB
2001 Michael Strahan DE
2000 Ray Lewis LB

Where can I bet on NFL awards?

Most online books and casinos offer futures bets on NFL awards and odds generally begin to appear after free agency and the NFL Draft. Check out the NFL futures odds at the best sportsbooks available in your area.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *